[FORK] F2 I44

Kill your comrades. Wholesale
wolfenswan

[FORK] F2 I44

Post by wolfenswan »

I've been working on a F2 fork for I44. It's feature complete but some work needs to be done on the ORBATs. Consult the issue tab on github for further info.

https://github.com/Wolfenswan/F2-I44
Discussion on the I44 forums

SavageCDN

Re: [FORK] F2 I44

Post by SavageCDN »

Hey I finally found the place!!!

From I44 forums:

SavageCDN
Hi Wolf I'm having trouble posting on the I44 forums at the moment so I'm posting questions here.

Finally getting to the ORBATS for I44 starting with US Army. I'm trying 12 man teams instead of 14 (default) as we discussed with the following structure:

A Lead - SL, Medic
A1 Recon - FTL, SMG
A2 FT - FTL, Rifle, Gren, Rifle/Bazooka/FT, SMG
A3 Support - FTL, AR, Assisstant

I think I like this layout better than evening out A2 and A3 with 4 per squad but am open to suggestions.

I am somewhat new to the assign gear stuff and the unit naming scheme so just working through that.. what is the convention for the actual unit names in the editor? IE: UnitUS_A1_AR ... say I wanted to name the SMG unit in Recon A1 would it be UnitUS_A1_SMG? Basically I use the assign gear 'label' as the unit name like (nul = ["smg",this] call f_fnc_assignGear)?

Also what are your thoughts on the other factions? Should I attempt to keep the same squad layouts as US Army or use more 'accurate' ones (especially for ze Germans)?

Wolf
Hey Savage, I've got the some issue and was about to PM you here.

An option would be to have A1 and A3 with 3 each, as I don't know how much sense a 2-man fireteam makes gameplay-wise.
A1 could be all SMGs while A2 sports the rifles and A3 is the fire support. The naming suggestion sounds good. As long as they are coherent through the platoons it shouldn't be a problem.